FAQ

WHAT CAN I EXPECT DURING MY TREATMENT & FIRST VISIT?

The osteopathic visit starts with a discussion between the patient and the Osteopath. During this initial phase the Osteopath will ask questions related to the client’s history of injuries and lifestyle and listen to the patients description of any discomforts to better understand a starting point for the treatment. 

The second phase of the visit consists of the osteopathic physical examination. You may be asked to remove some of your clothing so that the Osteopath can see and touch the areas of concern. The physical exam will include:

  • Simple movements and stretches where the Osteopath will observe your posture and mobility 

  • Palpation of the tissue to understand the discomfort and primary cause of any discomfort 

In case of a more specific problem the osteopath will continue the test on the affected area. Once this is understood, the Osteopath will apply integrated manual techniques aimed at muscular-skeletal, visceral and cranium-skeletal systems. These treatments will aim to resolve the dysfunction and allow for the body system to begin mechanisms of self-healing. 

DO I NEED A DOCTOR'S REFERRAL?

No, it is not necessary to have a doctor referral.

IS MY TREATMENT COVERED BY HEALTH INSURANCE?

Your Osteopathic treatment is not covered by RAMQ but may be covered in full or in part under many private health insurance providers. Payments are due at the time of your appointment and we will provide you with a receipt which you may submit to your insurance company for reimbursement if coverage is available under your plan.

WHAT TYPE OF CONDITIONS CAN OSTEOPATHY TREAT?

At Clinique Victoria we can treat a variety of conditions in adults, seniors and pregnant women. Conditions which can benefit from osteopathy treatments can include muscular and joint pains, chronic pain and conditions, symptoms from accidents or sports injuries, gastrointestinal conditions, headaches, fatigue and much more. See our services page for more information.

FAQ

À QUOI PUIS-JE M’ATTENDRE PENDANT MON TRAITEMENT ET MA PREMIÈRE VISITE?

La visite ostéopathique commence par une discussion entre le patient et l’ostéopathe. Au cours de cette phase initiale, l’ostéopathe posera des questions sur les antécédents de blessures et le mode de vie du patient. Il écoutera la description des inconforts afin de mieux comprendre comment réaliser le traitement.

La deuxième phase de la visite consiste en l’examen physique ostéopathique. On peut vous demander de retirer certains de vos vêtements afin que l’ostéopathe puisse voir et toucher les zones plus ou moins mobile. L’examen physique comprendra :

  • Mouvements et étirements simples où l’ostéopathe observera votre posture et votre mobilité 

  • Palpation du tissu musculaire pour comprendre l’inconfort et sa cause première 

En cas de problème plus spécifique, l’ostéopathe continuera le test sur la zone affectée. Une fois identifiée, l’ostéopathe appliquera des techniques manuelles intégrées destinées aux systèmes musculo-squelettique, viscéral et crânien-squelettique. Ces traitements viseront à régler le dysfonctionnement et permettre au système du corps de commencer des mécanismes d’auto-guérison. 

AI-JE BESOIN D’UNE PRESCRITION D’UN MÉDECIN? 

Non, il n’est pas nécessaire de consulter un médecin pour consulter un ostéopathe.

MON TRAITEMENT EST-IL COUVERT PAR L’ASSURANCE MALADIE?

Votre traitement ostéopathique n’est pas couvert par la RAMQ, mais peut l’être en tout ou en partie par de nombreux assureurs privés. Les paiements sont dus au moment de votre rendez-vous et nous vous fournirons un reçu que vous pourrez soumettre à votre compagnie d’assurance pour remboursement si la couverture est disponible dans votre plan.

QUELS TYPES DE PATHOLOGIES L’OSTÉOPATHIE PEUT-ELLE TRAITER? 

À la Clinique Victoria, nous pouvons traiter une variété de pathologies chez les adultes, les personnes âgées et les femmes enceintes. Celles-ci peuvent inclure les douleurs musculaires et articulaires, les douleurs et les conditions chroniques, les symptômes d’accidents ou de blessures sportives, les conditions gastro-intestinales, les maux de tête, la fatigue et bien plus encore. Consultez notre page de services pour plus d’informations.